Core and Internal Medical Training

Core/Internal Medical Training (CMT and IMT) in the HEE KSS School of Medicine offers exciting two-three year programmes covering comprehensive exposure to all aspects of general medicine, preparing for a wide range of higher medical training choices.

KSS are dedicated to training the physicians of the future and have a very successful track record of doing this. The programme is led by Nik Patel, Head of School, and two Training Programme Directors, Dr Michael Wood and Dr Burhan Khan. You can find out more about their roles via the School of Medicine Meet the Team webpage here.

All CMT and IMT trainees have a dedicated educational supervisor who delivers individually tailored, local weekly teaching sessions and is adept in clinical teaching and appraisal. All trainees provide weekly teaching sessions for medical students, and are exposed to acute medical takes to ensure complete coverage of the CMT and IMT curriculum.

Structured training

CMT/IMT forms the first stage of specialty training for most doctors training in physician specialties, and will prepare trainees for participating in the acute medical take at a senior level, managing patients with acute and chronic medical problems in outpatient and inpatient settings. The approved curriculum for CMT and IMT is a sub-set of the curricula for General Internal Medicine (GIM) and Acute Internal Medicine (AIM). It is a spiral curriculum as topics are revisited with increasing levels of difficulty; new learning is related to previous learning and the competence of the trainee increases.

Trainees must complete CMT and IMT and acquire the full MRCP(UK) Diploma in order to enter specialty training at ST3/ST4.

Decision Aid CMT/IMT

CMT/IMT Curriculum

Where do we provide training?

CMT and IMT programmes are based in regional acute Trusts and include large city-based hospitals as well as smaller, more rural placements. Trainees are based in one trust for two years and undertake six to four month rotations.


  • William Harvey Hospital, Ashford – East Kent Hospitals University Foundation Trust
  • Queen Elizabeth and Queen Mother Hospital, Margate – East Kent Hospitals University Foundation Trust
  • Maidstone Hospital, Maidstone – Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust
  • Tunbridge Wells Hospital, Pembury – Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust
  • Medway Maritime Hospital, Medway – Medway NHS Foundation Trust
  • Darent Valley Hospital, Dartford – Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust


  • Ashford and St Peter’s Hospital, Chertsey – Ashford and St. Peter’s Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Frimley Park Hospital, Frimley – Frimley Health NHS Foundation Trust
  • Royal Surrey County Hospital, Guildford – Royal Surrey NHS Foundation Trust 
  • East Surrey Hospital, Redhill – Surrey and Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust


  • Conquest Hospital, St. Leonards-on-Sea – East Sussex Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
  • Eastbourne District General Hospital, Eastbourne – East Sussex Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
  • Royal Sussex County Hospital, Brighton – Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Worthing Hospital, Worthing – Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • St Richard’s Hospital, Chichester – Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Princess Royal Hospital, Haywards Heath – Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust

To find out more about each training location, please visit the Local Education Provider webpage.